Orange County Government, Florida

Sustainability Committee

Planning for a more prosperous, healthy & livable community


Develop a Sustainability Plan to make Orange County a more prosperous, healthy, and livable community for current and future generations by addressing economic, environmental, social and cultural issues in a holistic manner.


Committee Appointments and their Roles

The ad hoc committee appointed by Mayor Teresa Jacobs met on a monthly basis from March 2013 to April 2014. After reviewing and providing input on the Sustainability Assessment, which provides a summary of Orange County’s current status, the Committee developed a Sustainability Plan with goals, targets, strategies, and metrics covering seven focus areas:

Subcommittees for each of the focus areas, comprised of government staff and external stakeholders, developed the drafts for the Sustainability Assessment and Sustainability Plan for the Sustainability Committee to review and modify as they saw fit. An internal staff Steering Committee also provided input as part of the process of developing the Assessment and Plan.


The Board of County Commissioners accepted the Sustainability Assessment and Sustainability Plan as presented by the Sustainability Committee on September 24, 2013 and May 13, 2014, respectively. Read the Orange County Sustainability plan.


  • John Martinez (Chair) - Director of Public Finance, PNC Capital Markets
  • Eliza Harris (Vice Chair) - Director of Urbanism, Canin Associates
  • Harold W. Barley - Executive Director, MetroPlan Orlando
  • Jill Hamilton Buss - Executive Director, Healthy Central Florida
  • Dee Danmeyer - President/CEO, Habitat for Humanity of Greater Orlando
  • Flora Maria Garcia - President & CEO, United Arts of Central Florida
  • Greg Hardwick, P.E., CGB, CGP, LEED AP - President, Hardwick General Contracting, Inc
  • Dr. Cathy Pope - Chief of Staff, Orange County Public Schools
  • Jim Thomas - President, Biosphere
  • Pastor Frank Thompson - President/CEO Youth Central/AWCD, The Worship Center Orlando
  • Brandon Tidwell - Manager, Sustainability, Darden Restaurants
  • Dr. Marty Wanielista - Director, Stormwater Management Academy, University of Central Florida

Contact Us

Sustainability Committee
Environmental Protection Division
Attention: David Jones
800 Mercy Drive, Suite 4
Orlando, FL 32808

Phone: (407) 836-1434
Fax: (407) 836-1417

All e-mail sent to this address becomes part of Orange County public record. Comments received by our e-mail subsystem can be read by anyone who requests that privilege. In compliance with "Government in the Sunshine" laws, Orange County Government must make available, at request, any and all information not deemed a threat to the security of law enforcement agencies and personnel.